D-Rock TV Episode 3: Turn Beer Into Weights


[blip.tv ?posts_id=3066493&dest=-1]

MP3 Audio (26:36)

This week we’re talking about water, water bottles and how to turn an empty beer keg into a useful training tool using—what else—water. Plus viewer feedback and the Question of the Week.

Sorry for the late post. Let’s get to it with the quick tip.

QUICK TIP: Drink More Water

Drink. More. Water.

Water is important for every biological and mental function you do during the day. I try to drink 2 to 4 liters (65 to 135 fl. oz.) of water every day. Many people—Americans especially—can’t disginguish between thirst and hunger. If you feel hungry, drink some water and wait 15 or 20 minutes. If you’re still hungry at that time, eat something then.

COOL STUFF: Platypus Soft-Shell Water Bottle
Platypus soft shell bottles are a great alternative to the regular metal or plastic options you might find.

I bought my 2.5 liter “water bag” at REI (rei.com) for less than $15. They also come in 1 liter and .5 liter sizes.

FULL DISCLOSURE: Unless I say otherwise, I have no affiliation with any of the products or services I mention on D-Rock TV or on Body By D-Rock. I’m just sharing with you the stuff I use and enjoy and feel are trustworthy.

FEATURE SEGMENT: Empty Beer Keg to Useful Equipment
Thank you, Pat, for donating the keg.

  1. Find a keg: buy it, trade it, steal it.
  2. Release the pressure: press down in the ball with pliers or screwdriver.
  3. Remove the washer/spring
  4. Rinse the keg and fill it with 2/3 water.
  5. Reassemble everything and test: Too light? Add more water. To heavy? Dump some out.

VIEWER QUESTIONS: Thanks Jacob!
Q: I know a lot of vegans and vegetarians and there are a lot of myths about veganism and vegetarianism being incompatible with proper nutrition and physical fitness. What are alternatives to meat and eggs that can supply you with protein?

There are 2 types of proteins: complete proteins (meaning each molecule has all 8 essential amino acids) and incomplete proteins (meaning they’re missing one or two essential amino acids, but are still good for your body). Animal proteins are generally complete proteins and plant proteins are generally not.

For a vegan or vegetarian, it is imperative to combine protein sources to create complete proteins. You do this by usually combining a starch and a legume or veggie: rice and beans; yams and chickpeas; etc. Mushrooms are a very good source of protein and, if you eat soy, that’s a good idea as well.

NOW — please keep in mind that I’m not a dietitian or nutritionist, so I recommend researching work written by someone with the proper credentials.

I follow a lot of Dr. John Berardi’s work, which is on his website, PrecisionNutrition.com.

If you have questions you want answered on the show, shoot me an email or hit me up on twitter.

QUESTION OF THE WEEK: What does D-O-M-S stand for and what is it?

The first person to leave a comment below with the correct answer gets 2 free workout assessments with me, valued at over $150.

No winner yet of last week’s Question, so it’s still up for grabs.

# # # # #

If you liked the show, please share it with 4 of your friends and tell them to sign up for my mailing list so they can get all the latest info on new episodes and special offers. Remember, this show is available in both video and MP3 audio formats, and on iTunes, so you can watch or listen to it from almost anywhere.

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT
I’ve been getting real lax with my training lately: first a wrist injury, then a knee injury; I moved to a new house, my schedule changed, yaddah yaddah yaddah, excuse excuse excuse…

Well, no more excuses! I promised Scott Bird (straighttothebar.com) and Chase Karnes (chasekarnes.com) that I would compete in a strongman competition this spring, so that is what I’m going to train for.

I am nowhere near strong enough, but that’s not the point: the point is that I show up and make a glorious fool of myself. That way, when I do my second strongman competition, it won’t be as big a deal because there will be fewer butterflies in my stomach.

So there! I am not accountable to all of you: you heard it here first my friends, and I will keep you updated via this blog and via twitter and all that good stuff.

Feedback for this week’s episode: What did you like? What did you hate? What would you like to see in future episodes? Please leave your comments below.

Until next time,
Stay fit, stay strong.

Comments
3 Responses to “D-Rock TV Episode 3: Turn Beer Into Weights”
  1. Sean says:

    Delayed onset muscle soreness(DOMS)

    It’s the stiff, sore feeling that resides in muscle groups after training

    • Derek Peruo says:

      Nice one Sean! You’re the winner of this week’s Question of the Week.

      I sent you an email, so please check your spam folder and make sure it didn’t get lost. If you can’t find it just email me and I’ll explain all the details.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by D-Rock, D-Rock. D-Rock said: D-Rock TV Ep. 3 – Turn Beer Into Weights http://su.pr/3jdMbW […]



Leave a Reply

